OneShar.es – send confidential data which automatically deletes after recipient views it once

February 19, 2012 |  by  |  Cool Stuff, Sites

Sharing is natural. We share a lot of things in our daily lives whether through social networks, email or IM. The problem arises when we share sensitive information with others. We easily send emails with usernames, passwords or other important information to our friends, co-workers and clients without thinking. Its simple and quick to do and we tend to trust those we share this information with.

However, there are always digital traces left behind that we never think about. Consider this for a minute. You just emailed your wife the pin number to your ATM account. Was the emailed deleted or is it still in her inbox? Or how about the username and password to a new site you’ve just built for a client that was sent to them. Do they still have it sitting in their inbox?

OneShar.es - send confidential data which automatically deletes after recipient views it once

OneShar.es (web, iOS, android, 99 cents) which comes with ‘This Message Will Self-Destruct’, lets you send confidential data that automatically deletes after the recipient views it once. The web tool allows people to easily share private information, whether its via your mobile device or your browser window. The recipient has one chance to view the information and when he or she closes out, it self destructs. It allows your sensitive data from becoming one of the many “read” emails in a recipient’s inbox, which could potentially be accessed if his or her smartphone is lost or stolen.

1. To get started, point your browser to OneShar.es.
2. Click on the button to create a message, and then enter your message. You have up to 1,000 characters.

OneShar.es - send confidential data which automatically deletes after recipient views it once

3. After entering your message and creating a link, you will be presented with a secure URL to copy and send to the recipient. Keep in mind, if you were to visit the link yourself, no one else will be able to view the message. It literally is one view and then gone.

OneShar.es - send confidential data which automatically deletes after recipient views it once

Jerry Thompson, co-founder and CTO give this example of how your email could easily be accessed: “On a desktop web browser, you’ll need to enter your email address and password to access your Gmail,” he says. “With the vast majority of people having smartphones, most email apps do not require authorization once it’s been configured. If you lose your phone, whomever finds it can now check your email without any logins at all. If a bad guy were to find your phone, they have your email and everything in it.”

No one deletes email, so protect your information.

Wondering how OneShar.es works, the data you enter is encrypted from your browser to the servers and stored encrypted. Your private URL holds part of the key to unlock the content. This URL is sent to whoever needs access to it. Once its viewed, its permanently deleted. So while you may have the OneShar.es URL in your outbox and the recipient may have it in their inbox, it can never be retrieved again after being viewed.

Concerned about security
- OneShar.es use HTTPS (SSL; Port 443) to encrypt the data from your web browser to our servers.
- All data is stored encrypted.
- When someone views the unique URL that you send them; your encrypted message is deleted from system.
- OneShar.es datacenter maintains the latest security updates and patches on server.
- Google Analytics is used on our site for web analytics.


Leave a Reply

Comment moderation is enabled, no need to resubmit any comments posted.

Your Ad Here